Next Generation Luminaires Design Competition

2012 Judging Panel

Next Generation Luminaires judges have been drawn from across the architectural lighting design community, creating a diverse panel of experts who design, specify, evaluate, research, and write about commercial SSL luminaires. The evaluation criteria used by the judges to evaluate the entries are available.

Judging Panel

Jeffrey L. Brown photo

Jeffrey L. Brown, IALD, IESNA
Jeff is founder and principal of Colorlume Inc., a North Carolina-based award winning lighting design firm that has recently merged with Illuminart, another internationally recognized lighting design firm based in his native Michigan. Jeff has over 28 years of diverse lighting experience, working as an independent designer, educator and manufacturer's application design manager. He has won several awards for his work, has authored numerous articles and is a professional member and past Board member of the IALD.

Leslie M. North photo

Leslie M. North, PE, LC, LEED AP
Leslie North is founding principal of Aurora Lighting Design, Inc. an architectural lighting design firm based in the greater Chicago area. As well as working on various sustainable design projects, she has received multiple lighting design awards including two Edison Awards of Merit and an IIDA Award of Merit. In addition to being a featured speaker, she has contributed to numerous publications including IESNA DG-18 Light + Design: A Guide to Designing Quality Lighting for People and Buildings, the webbased Advanced Lighting Guidelines, and the soon-to-be-published IESNA DG-22 Design Guide for Sustainable Lighting.

Liesel Whitney-Schulte photo

Liesel Whitney-Schulte, LC
As the Lighting Program Manager for Business Programs at the Wisconsin Energy Conservation Corporation (WECC) (a mission-based nonprofit that delivers energy efficiency programs), Liesel leads the implementation of commercial lighting programs, provides program development and technical guidance for residential lighting programs and represents WECC on national lighting committees. She has nearly 20 years of experience in a variety of lighting energy efficiency programs for multiple utilities and is a past president of the IES Milwaukee section.

Richard Wyton photo

Richard Wyton, IES, AEE
Richard Wyton is the Corporate Lighting Consultant for Steiner Electric, and has spent the past 40 years in lighting, traveling worldwide on lighting assignments. Richard is an active member of the IES, and is an advisory member of the Energy Management Committee and a recipient of a local IES chapter IALD award, as well as the Energy Engineer Award from the Association of Energy Engineers.


Judging Panel and Steering Committee

Craig Bernecker photo

Craig Bernecker, PhD, FIESNA, LC
Craig Bernecker is the founder of The Lighting Education Institute (LEI), and professor in the Lighting Design program at Parsons The New School for Design. Craig previously directed the lighting program at Penn State University, and has developed lighting education programs in distance education, as well as serving on the policy-advising body for the Penn State World Campus. He has published more than 40 articles on lighting and is known for his work on the psychological aspects of lighting. He maintains an active consulting practice and regularly serves as a peer reviewer for the U.S. Department of Energy. Dr. Bernecker has served the Illuminating Engineering Society of North America in several capacities, including President for 2004-2005. He was named an IES Fellow in 1991.

Avraham Mendall Mor photo

Avraham Mendall Mor, IALD, IES, LEED AP
Avraham "Avi" Mor is a partner with Lightswitch Architectural, an international architectural lighting and media design practice. He has over 10 years of experience in a variety of applications, from offices and events to museums and hotels. Avi is an international speaker, past-president of the Chicago Section of the IES, professional member and Midwest regional coordinator of IALD, and a LEED Accredited Professional.

Melanie Taylor photo

Melanie Taylor, IALD, LEED AP
Melanie Taylor leads the Lighting Design Studio for the WSP Flack + Kurtz Seattle Office and brings over 20 years of lighting design experience to her judging duties. She has participated in the design of integrated and sustainable lighting projects for a wide range of projects in Asia and the United States. She is a professional member of the IALD and has been LEED accredited since 2004.

Charles Thompson photo

Charles Thompson, FAIA, LC, IALD, IESNA, LEED AP
Charles Thompson, founder of ARCHILLUME, is a recently appointed fellow of the AIA and an interior designer. He is a corporate member of the International Association of Lighting Designers and a member of the Illuminating Engineering Society of North America. He has achieved Lighting Certification from the National Council for the Qualifications of the Lighting Professions and is a LEED Accredited Professional.


Steering Committee

Dan Blitzer photo

Dan Blitzer, LC
Dan Blitzer is principal of The Practical Lighting Workshop LLC, a consultancy that provides strategic planning, marketing, communications, and training services to the lighting industry. Dan has written and trained extensively on energy effective lighting; he is a member of the Board of Directors of The Nuckolls Fund for Lighting Education, and past president of the Designers Lighting Forum of New York.

Nancy Clanton photo

Nancy E. Clanton, PE, IALD, FIES, LC, LEED AP
Nancy E. Clanton is founder and president of Clanton & Associates, a lighting design firm specializing in sustainable design. A registered professional engineer in Colorado, Nancy chairs IES's Outdoor Environmental Lighting Committee and Mesopic Committee. She was invited to lead the Lighting Group by the mayors of Seoul, Korea, and Toronto, Canada, at the C40 Summit in Seoul, Korea.

Barbara Cianci Horton photo

Barbara Cianci Horton, LC, IALD, IES
Barbara Cianci Horton is president and CEO of HLB Lighting Design, Inc. With four offices across the United States, Barbara has been leading the firm's strategic business planning and marketing since 1992. Her role as a design principal affords her the opportunity to work on significant national and international projects, keeping her in tune with industry trends that are vital to the planning of the firm.

Mary Matteson Bryan photo

Mary Matteson Bryan, PE, CEM
Mary Matteson Bryan is an independent consultant with over 20 years' experience in energy efficiency. She is currently engaged in support of energy efficient lighting programs for utilities such as Pacific Gas and Electric Company and the Bonneville Power Administration, where she provides technical expertise on emerging energy efficient lighting technologies, such as LED lighting in outdoor and indoor applications.

Ruth Taylor photo

Ruth Taylor, PNNL, IES
Ruth Taylor currently serves as a project manager within the Energy and Environment Directorate at the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL) where she contributes to a number of projects focused on energy efficiency in buildings. Currently, Ms. Taylor manages the Next Generation Luminaires commercial SSL design competition and the CALiPER testing program for the DOE Solid-State Lighting program.


Indoor Competitions

Evaluation Highlights

Past Competitions